How to Find Out Who’s Using Your Netflix Account and Kick Them Off

Man watching Netflix using an iPad Credit: Cardmapr / Unsplash
Text Size
- +

Toggle Dark Mode

Ever share your Netflix login credentials with a friend or family member? You know how it happens. They don’t have a Netflix account and want to watch the latest and greatest movie, so you share your account with them. Then you forget that you gave them access to your Netflix account until you start seeing some weird movie recommendations. Don’t panic. There’s a quick and easy way to find out who has access to your Netflix account and an even faster way to revoke their access.

Netflix Plans Create the Problem

Netflix’s plans are designed for subscribers to share their accounts with trusted family members or friends. The standard $15.49 plan, for example, allows up to two screens to watch a movie or TV show simultaneously. You could watch one show in your living room while your roommate watches something else on the train ride home. And this is just the beginning – you can select a premium plan that lets you watch on up to four screens at once.

These multi-screen plans are convenient for large households, but they pose a security risk, especially when the household changes. With a four-screen limit, former friends or family members can access your account, and you wouldn’t even know it. Worst of all, they could use up all your available screens and prevent you from watching your own content. Imagine sitting down to watch TV at the end of a long day and discovering you are blocked from your own account!

No Subscriptions - Get Microsoft Office Lifetime Access for Just $49.97

Even Microsoft tries to nudge you toward paying monthly for their Suite 365. The good news is that you don't have to. iDrop News readers can get lifetime access to MS Office at 85% off the normal price...Get It Here

“Who Is Using My Netflix Account?”

To find out who is using your account, you need to:

  1. Fire up your computer, go to Netflix’s website and log into your account.
  2. Then select your profile icon to access your account details.
  3. In the account details, you can navigate to Settings and finally select “Recent device streaming activity.”
  4. Here you will see a list of devices that recently connected to your Netflix account. You can view the device location, the IP address, and the date/time the device accessed your account.
  5. Carefully scrutinize each entry to make sure it matches the devices you use and the locations where you typically watch Netflix. Any unusual location or device information should set off alarm bells.

These spurious entries suggest someone may be logging into your account without your knowledge or permission.

How to Block Access to Netflix

Once you are confident someone is accessing your account without authorization, you can take steps to block them.

  1. First, you need to access your Netflix account settings and look for the “Sign out of all devices” entry.
  2. Click on “Sign out of all devices” to disconnect every device from your account. This will remove all devices as well as third-party apps that have access to your Netflix account.
  3. Once all the devices have been removed, you can go to your account page and change your password.
  4. After the password change, all the devices previously logged into your account will need to log in again with your new credentials.

Voila! Only those devices with the new password will be authorized. Everyone else will be blocked.

Sponsored
Social Sharing