Share Grocery Lists
One under appreciated recent development in Notes is the ability to share and collaborate on notes with other iPhone and iPad users. Not only can you make the contents of a note available to a family member, friend, or co-worker, but both of you will be able to edit the note, with changes syncing up between your devices in real-time.
To get started
- Tap the person icon at the top of the note editing screen.
- Choose how to send out your invite (e.g. via Messages, Mail, Facebook Messenger, etc). You can also choose to just copy the sharing link to your clipboard.
- Add the names of people you want to share the note with.
Combined with the checklist feature, it’s a great way to create shared shopping lists or lists of household chores among family members. As each person adds or checks off items, everybody will see the updates almost instantly — you can literally divvy up shopping duties while walking around the store and avoid picking up the same items.
In addition, when sharing a note you can also choose whether to receive alerts when the note is updated, and highlight changes made by others so you can quickly see what’s new. You can also stop sharing a note at any time by going back into the sharing list and tapping the “Stop Sharing” button. As the owner of a shared note, it will also go away on other people’s devices if you delete the original one from yours.